District Level Information of Chhatarpur (Madhya Pradesh)
About Chhatarpur District (Madhya Pradesh)

Chhatarpur district, a part of Sagar division is a district of Madhya Pradesh with its administrative headquarters located at Chhatarpur town. The district is named after the name of the Maharaja Chhatrasal, a courageous warrior of the region who founded it in 1707. According to some legends, during the medieval period, the place was under the Bundelkhand region which was ruled by several dynasties namely Kalachuris, Chandellas, Gonds and Bundelas. Then the place became a part of the kingdom of Raja Chhatrasal of Panna in 18th century. Later, he divided his territories among his sons. In this way the place was ruled by many notable dynasties during different periods of time. After India got its independence in 1947, at that time all the rulers of the princely states suspended to the Government of India, so the district came under the newly formed state named Vindhya Pradesh. After sometime on 1st November, 1956 Vindhya Pradesh was merged into Madhya Pradesh. The district came into existence in the year 1785.

Asgari Bai, a distinguished Indian Dhrupad singer was born in January at Bijawar in the Chhatarpur district. She was honoured by many prestigious awards such as Padma Shri, Tansen Samman, Academy Samman, Shikhar Samman and Nari Shakti Samman.

Geographically, the district lies at 24°92'N latitude, 79°58'E longitude and 305 m Altitude. In the year 2021, there was a total 39.00% forest area of total geographical area. The district encompasses a geographical area of 8,687 sq km. and in terms of geographical area it occupies the ranks of 7th in the state and 85th in India. It is bounded by Mohoba district of Uttar Pradesh on the east, Sagar district on the south east and Tikamgarh district on the west. The climate of the district remains extremely hot during the summer and fairly cold during the winter. Most of its rainfall occurs in the monsoon season. The actual rainfall in the district was 934.5 mm in the year of 2021-22.

Administration wise, the district is divided into 7 tehsils namely Chhatarpur, Gaurihar, Nowgaon, Laundi, Rajnagar, Bijawar and Badamalhara. There are 1 Lok Sabha seat and 6 Assembly constituencies in the district. Moreover, the district comprises 11 sub-districts, 16 towns and 1,187 villages. The administrative language in the district is Hindi.

According to 2011 census the district has a population of 17,62,375 out of which 9,36,121 are males and 8,26,254 are females. The district has a ratio of 883 females for every 1000 males. During the year 2001-2011 the population growth rate in the district was 19.51% including 18.66% were males and 20.48% were females. The population density in the district is 203 persons per sq. km. In the year 2020 the number of live births in the district was 41,401 out of which 21,641 were males and 19,760 were females. In the same year the number of deaths in the district was 11,278 out of which 7,463 were males and 3,815 were females. As per 2011 census the major religion in the district is Hindu with 95.15% of the total population. According to 2011 census the principal language in the district is Hindi with 99.33%.

Agriculture is the backbone of the economy of the district. The district has very fertile soil and advanced irrigation facility which are suitable for the growth of its agricultural products. The chief agricultural products in the district are wheat, gram, alsi, muster, rai, various vegetables, etc. Since the district is scantily industrialised hence there is no large scale industry in the district but some few small scale industries are found in it which provides employment facilities to its natives. In terms of mineral resources, the district is rich in granite. Therefore, many granite mining industries are available in the district. It is one of the 24 districts in Madhya Pradesh and currently receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme (BRGF). In the year 2019-20 the gross domestic product in the district was Rs. 18,98,343 lakhs at current price and Rs. 11,19,938 lakhs at constant prices in the year 2011-2012. The net domestic product in the district during the period 2019-20 was Rs. 17,42,570 lakh at current price and Rs. 10,04,572 lakh at constant prices in the year 2011-2012. The Per Capita Income or NDDP, At Factor Cost during the period 2019-20 was Rs. 86,625 at current price and Rs. 49,938 at constant prices in the year 2011-2012.

Most of the colleges in the district are affiliated to Dr. Hari Singh Gaur University, located at Sagar popularly known as Sagar University. These colleges provide courses in the various fields like Arts, Science, Commerce, Education, Law, etc. Some reputed colleges in the district are Govt. Maharaja College, Govt. Girls College, Vidyawati Chaturvedi Siksha Mahavidyalaya, Saraswati College of Computer Science, Takshshila Mahavidhyalaya, Master Mind Computer Academy, Digital Degree College, Pt. Motilal Nehru Law College, Dakhsh Institute for Pharmacy, Swami Pranavananda Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital, etc. As per 2011 census the literacy rate in the district is 63.74% out of which 72.66% are males and 53.59% are females.

Satyavrat Chaturvedi, an eminent Indian politician and a member of 13th Lok Sabha from the Khajuraho constituency was born on 13th January, 1950 at Chhatarpur town. He is a member of Indian National Congress party.

The district has several centres of attraction in the district which allures many travellers from different parts of the country as well as world. Maharaja Chhatrasal Museum, situated within an old palace at Dhubela was built by Chhatrasal in September, 1955. The museum has 8 galleries and out of which 2 galleries present inscriptions, copper plates, Sati pillars, lingas and the inscribed images of the Gupta and Kalachuri period. Bhimkund, a natural and pious water tank located near Bajna village in the district has fully transparent water. The Raneh Falls, situated in the district is a natural water fall formed by the Ken River. Some other notable places of interest in the district are Hanuman Tauria, Bambar Baini, Panna National Park, Pandav Falls, Hanuman Mandir, Satna, etc.

India's most comprehensive e-resource of socio-economic data. A cluster of 56 associate websites
Provides election data for all 543 parliamentary and 4120 state assembly constituencies
A collection of over 4000 data-oriented publication in print, eBook, eFlipbook & web-based access formats
A comprehensive collection of Infographics, videos, maps and charts on various socio-economic and electoral Insights
An e-resource providing socio-economic statistical information about India, its states, sectors, regions, and districts.
A one-stop-app for all who are craving for the latest economic facts and figures of India.
One-of-a-kind online learning platform offering specialised courses and also providing interactive learning.
Twenty Three years of serving socio-economic and electoral research fraternity in india and abroad.
© Datanet India Pvt. Ltd.